passa porta seminar 2014: the time of the author

FIRST EDITION 10 TO 12 MARCH 2014

 

International Writers' Seminar with Céline Curiol (FRA), Joke Hermsen (NLD), Iman Humaydan (LIB), Jens Christian Grøndahl (DNK), Anne Provoost (BEL), Goce Smilevski (MKD) and Juan Gabriel Vásquez (COL). Moderated by Ortwin De Graef (BEL).

In his ABC of Reading, Ezra Pound wrote that ‘literature is news that stays news’. In the writer’s ideal world, he or she decides what is news and makes sure it remains heard always and everywhere. But how does the writer relate to the news that he never entirely has under control, the news that we call ‘current affairs’ or ‘today’s world’? Literature is often requested to keep up to date and be aware of events. But what exactly does that mean? Should it deal with current topics, or express the spirit of the age? Should literature use ‘contemporary language’ and forms, and who is to say what language and forms those are?

Requirements of this sort are by no means self-evident. Not only because there can be no consensus about what is ‘current’, but isn’t good art and literature somehow unrelated to time? How can literature and imagination respond to the actual challenges and problems of our times? What is the time that the author requires, makes, deals with, and possesses?

The first Passa Porta Seminar offers seven authors from Belgium and abroad the opportunity to exchange and reflect together on their ‘time’ and ‘our time’, the time we share – with whom?

The authors spent three days together at Villa Hellebosch, in the Belgian countryside. Here they presented their keynotes and shared their thoughts and questions on the role and place of literature in today's world.
 

  • Report by Jack McMartin
     
  • Video of the presentation at Flagey, Brussels, on 12 March 2014
     

Keynotes

 


 

ABOUT THE PARTICIPATING AUTHORS

After her studies in Paris, Céline Curiol (France, 1975) moved to New York, where she worked as a journalist for Libération and France Culture, and as a correspondent for BBC Africa and Radio France. She has also lived in Buenos Aires and Kyoto. At the moment, she is living in Paris. Her first novel Voix sans issue (2005) has been released in fifteen countries and was shortlisted for the International Foreign Fiction Prize. It was published as Voice Over in the United Kingdom by Faber&Faber and in the US by Seven Stories Press. The novel deals with loneliness and the character’s separation from the world around her, themes which reoccur in later publications. Her second book Permission was released in 2007, as well as the travelogue Route Rouge. Voyage en Sierra Leone. Recent titles are the novels Exil intermédiaire (2009), L'Ardeur des pierres (2012), written in Kyoto, and A vue de nez (2013), a literary essay on memory, smell and writing, on which she worked during her residency at Passa Porta.

Joke J. Hermsen (The Netherlands, 1961) is a novelist, essayist and philosopher. With Dana Villa she published a work on Hannah Arendt’s political philosophy, The Judge and The Spectator. Her first novel Het dameoffer (The Lady Sacrifice, 1998) was followed by Tweeduister (The Smokefall), a historical novel situated in the interbellum, which introduces Bloomsbury artists such as T. S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf. This novel was translated in German as Die Garten von Bloomsbury. Her successful work Stil de tijd. Pleidooi voor een langzame toekomst (Time on our Side, 2009) includes essays about philosophers as Henri Bergson, Ernst Bloch, Hannah Arendt. It offers an overview of thinking about time in modern philosophy and explores the importance of tranquillity, deceleration and boredom in literature, music and visual arts: values that seem to be forgotten about in modern times. Stil de tijd is followed by Kairos (2014), dedicated to the Greek God for 'the right moment' and 'due measure'. Hermsen interprets the Kairos time from a philosophical, literary and artistic perspective and combines it with classical notions of the nunc stans - 'everlasting glow' - and the festina lente - 'make haste slowly'-principle.
Author’s website.

Iman Humaydan (Lebanon, 1956) is a writer, anthropologist, journalist and creative-writing teacher. She has a weekly article in the Lebanese daily Assafir and has published three novels to date: B as in Beirut, Wild Mulberries, and Other Lives (Interlink Books). Her work has also been translated in French, English, Italian and Dutch. Wild Mulberries was shortlisted for the Banipal Translation Prize 2009 for its English translation by Michelle Hartman. War memories and the situation of women and their rights feature as major topics in Humaydan’s work. The film Here Comes the Rain (2011), based upon her research on forced disappearances in Lebanon, won nine international prizes. During her Passa Porta residence in 2013 she worked on her fourth novel Rassa el Istanbul (Letters of Istanbul), due for publication in 2014.

Jens Christian Grøndahl (Denmark, 1959) studied philosophy and film direction in Copenhagen. Since 1983 writing became his main occupation. Love and modern relationships form the leading themes in his numerous novels, such as Silence in October (English translation 2000), An Altered Light (shortlist International IMPAC Dublin Award 2008). In 2010 his youth memoires appeared under the title of Om en time springer træerne ud. In his essays Grøndahl often reflects on his position as a European writer and his relation to political and cultural issues. Grøndahl was a guest of honour at the Passa Porta Festival 2011, on the occasion of which he wrote the opening lecture “The Radiance of Unspeakable Spring”.

Anne Provoost (Belgium, 1964) is the author of a series of provocative novels that examine topics as varied as right-wing extremism, sexual abuse, and religion through the eyes of young protagonists. She also publishes essays on literature and on (ir)religion. Her second novel, Falling (1994), in which the pitfalls and allurements of extreme right-wing rhetoric are dealt with extensively, was translated into English in 1997, and was made into a feature film starring Jill Clayburgh and Alice Krige (2001). The idea of watching and showing the world from the perspective of a character of young age occurs in later work of Provoost as well, such as the novel In the Shadow of the Ark (translated in 2004), in which she tackles the problem of inequality, starting from a biblical story. Her latest novel In de zon kijken was published in 2007 and translated in French (Regarder le soleil, Fayard, 2009). Provoost's work has been published in 20 different languages.
Author’s website.

Goce Smilevski (Macedonia, 1975) is the author of several novels, theatre plays and essays. He studied at Charles University in Prague, Central European University in Budapest, and Ss. Cyril and Methodius University in his hometown Skopje. In 2003, he received the National Novel of the Year Prize for his novel Conversations with Spinoza. Freud's Sister (Penguin), a novel against ‘the great forgetting’, is a personal story giving voice to Freud’s sister Adolfina. It mirrors the rise and fall of the era that begins with optimism in the middle of the nineteenth Century and ends with the Holocaust in the Second World War. Smilevski won the European Union Prize for Literature 2010 with this novel and it has been published in more than thirty languages. In 2012 he was a writer-in-residence at Passa Porta. See also the Citybook which he wrote for deBuren.
Author’s website.

Juan Gabriel Vásquez (Colombia, 1973) is one of the key figures in a new generation of Latin American writers. Mario Vargas Llosa described him as ‘one of the most original new voices in the region’. After completing his studies in Colombia he went to Paris where he acquired a PhD in Latin American literature at the Sorbonne. He then lived in the Belgian Ardennes for a time before settling in Barcelona. After living abroad for sixteen years, he returned to Colombia in 2013. He writes regularly for magazines and newspapers and has a weekly column in the Colombian newspaper El Espectador. In his novels, he often returns to dark periods in Colombian history, in which corruption, violence and opportunism are rampant. In The Informers (2004) he writes about the harsh treatment the Germans received in Colombia during WWII and in The Secret History of Costaguana (2007) about the construction of the Panama Canal and the bloodshed that accompanied it. In his most recent novel, The Sound of Things Falling (2011, Premio Alfaguara), he looks back, in a language that is beautifully atmospheric, at the rise and success of the Colombian drug trade in the seventies and eighties and the impact drug terrorism has had on his generation. Lately, The Sound of Things Falling has also been awarded the Prix Roger Caillois (2012) and the Premio Gregor von Rezzori-Città di Firenze (2013).


ABOUT THE MODERATOR

Ortwin de Graef (Belgium, 1963) is Professor of English Literature at KU Leuven, Belgium, and currently Dean of Research at the Arts Faculty there. He is the author of two books on Paul de Man (Serenity in Crisis [1993] and Titanic Light [1995]) and of numerous articles on writing in the postromantic condition, ranging from Wordsworth, Matthew Arnold and George Eliot over Virginia Woolf and Pearl S. Buck to Hafid Bouazza, Alan Warner and A.L. Kennedy. His principal research interests are the VeryLongNineteenthCentury ideologies of sympathy, science and the State reflected and refracted through the transmission technologies of the literary. He has co-edited (with Tom Toremans) special issues of the Belgian literary journal DW B on Scottish writing and on multilingual writing and has organised and hosted public literary events with John Banville, Nadine Gordimer, Derek Walcott, David Grossman, David Mitchell, Michael Cunningham and A.L. Kennedy.

passa porta seminar 2014: the time of the author

PREMIÈRE EDITION DU 10 AU 12 MARS 2014

 

Séminaire international d’écrivains, avec Céline Curiol (FRA), Joke Hermsen (NLD), Iman Humaydan (LIB), Jens Christian Grøndahl (DNK), Anne Provoost (BEL), Goce Smilevski (MKD) et Juan Gabriel Vásquez (COL). Modérateur: Ortwin De Graef (BEL).

« Literature is news that stays news », note Ezra Pound dans ABC of Reading. Dans son monde idéal, l’écrivain détermine ce qui a valeur d’actualité et pourra, grâce à lui, être entendu à tout moment et à tout endroit. Mais quel est le rapport entre l’écrivain et ces évènements sur lesquels qu’il ou elle n’a pas prise, ces nouvelles que l’on appelle « l’actualité » ou « le monde d’aujourd’hui » ? On demande souvent à la littérature qu’elle soit à la page et qu’elle suive au plus près ce qui se passe. Qu’est-ce que cela veut dire ? La littérature doit-elle par exemple se servir de formes modernes et d’un « langage contemporain » ? Et qui dira ce que sont exactement ces formes et ce langage ? La littérature doit-elle aborder des thèmes « actuels », discerner les « signes du temps » de façon « contemporaine » ?

Le premier Séminaire de Passa Porta offre à des auteurs belges et internationaux l’occasion de réfléchir ensemble sur une approche critique vis-à-vis de « leur » et « notre temps ». Le temps que nous partageons – avec qui ?

Sept auteurs ont passé trois jours ensemble à la Villa Hellebosch, la résidence pour écrivains dans le village de Vollezele. Ils y ont réfléchi sur le rôle et la place de la littérature dans le monde d’aujourd’hui, à l‘aide de présentations et de conversations, animées par Ortwin de Graef.

  • Compte-rendu des conversations par Jack McMartin (en anglais)
     
  • Vidéo de la soirée de présentation à Flagey, Bruxelles, le 12 mars 2014



Textes


Pour voir les photos du séminaire, cliquez ici

 

A PROPOS DES AUTEURS PARTICIPANTS
 

Après des études à Paris, Céline Curiol (France, 1975) s’installe à New York, où elle travaille comme journaliste pour Libération et France Culture et comme correspondante pour BBC Africa et Radio France. Elle a aussi séjourné à Buenos Aires et à Kyoto. Elle vit pour l’instant à Paris. Son premier roman, Voix sans issue (2005), est sorti dans quinze pays et a été en lice pour l’International Foreign Fiction Prize. Ce roman traite de la solitude et du sentiment d’isolement au monde ressenti par le personnage principal. Des thèmes qui apparaissent à nouveau dans ses publications ultérieures. Son deuxième livre, Permission, ainsi que le récit de voyage Route Rouge ont également paru la même année. Ses derniers romans sont Exil intermédiaire (2009) et L'Ardeur des pierres (2012), qu’elle a écrit à Kyoto. Lors de sa résidence à Passa Porta en 2013, elle a pu travailler sur À vue de nez, un essai sur la mémoire, l’odorat et l’écriture, sorti chez Actes Sud la même année.

Joke Hermsen (Pays-Bas, 1961) est romancière, essayiste et philosophe. Elle a fait ses études de littérature et de philosophie à Paris et à Amsterdam. Avec Dana Villa, elle a publié The Judge and The Spectator, un recueil d’essais sur la philosophie politique d’Hannah Arendt. Het dameoffer (1998), son premier roman, a été suivi par Tweeduister (2001), un roman historique mettant en scène des artistes du Bloomsbury Group comme T. S. Eliot et Virginia Woolf pendant l’entre-deux-guerres. Stil de tijd. Pleidooi voor een langzame toekomst (2009) a remporté beaucoup de succès. Ce recueil contient des essais sur des philosophes comme Henri Bergson, Ernst Bloch ou Hannah Arendt. Joke Hermsen y propose une vue d’ensemble des réflexions sur le temps dans la philosophie moderne. Elle explore l’importance de la tranquillité, de la décélération et de l’ennui dans la littérature, la musique et les arts visuels : des valeurs qui semblent oubliées à notre époque moderne. Son dernier ouvrage en date, Kairos (2014), est un essai dédié au dieu grec du temps, de la mesure et du moment opportun.
Site de l’auteur.

Iman Humaydan (Liban, 1956) est une écrivaine, anthropologiste, journaliste, scénariste et professeure d’écriture créative. Elle écrit des chroniques hebdomadaires pour le journal libanais Assafir et a publié trois romans à ce jour : Ville à vif, Mûriers sauvages et D’autres vies (publiés en traduction française aux éditions Verticales). Ses livres ont également été traduits en anglais, italien et néerlandais. Les souvenirs de guerre et la situation des femmes, ainsi que leurs droits occupent une place particulière dans l’œuvre d’Iman Humaydan. Le long-métrage Here Comes the Rain (2011), nourri de ses recherches sur les personnes disparues au Liban, a reçu neuf prix internationaux. Lors de sa résidence à Passa Porta en 2013, elle a travaillé sur Rassa el Istanbul (Lettres d’Istanbul), son quatrième roman, qui devrait paraître en 2014.

Jens Christian Grøndahl (Danemark, 1959) a étudié la philosophie et le cinéma à Copenhague. Il se consacre pleinement à l’écriture depuis 1983. L’amour et les relations modernes sont les thèmes principaux de beaucoup de ses romans. C’est le cas dans Silence en octobre (2011) ou dans Sous un autre jour (2005, finaliste du International IMPAC Dublin Award 2008). En 2010, son livre de souvenirs est sorti au Mercure de France, sous le titre Passages de jeunesse. Dans ses essais, Jens Christian Grøndahl réfléchit souvent à sa position d’écrivain européen et à sa relation aux problèmes politiques et culturels. Les complémentaires, son dernier roman, est sorti chez Gallimard en 2013.

Anne Provoost (Belgique, 1964) est l’auteure d’une série de romans provocateurs traitant de sujets aussi variés que l’extrémisme de droite, les abus sexuels ou la religion, vus à travers les yeux de protagonistes jeunes. Elle publie également des essais sur la littérature et l'(ir)religion. Son deuxième roman Le Piège (1994) traite de la séduction et des écueils des théories d’extrême-droite. Il a été traduit en anglais en 1997 et réalisé en 2001 sous la forme d’un long-métrage avec Jill Clayburgh et Alice Krige (Falling). L’idée d’observer et de montrer le monde à travers le prisme d’un personnage encore très jeune se répète dans d’autres romans d’Anne Provoost. C’est le cas dans Les Passagers de l’Arche, qui aborde le problème de l’inégalité en partant d’une histoire biblique. Regarder le soleil, un roman qui raconte l'histoire d'une fille confrontée à la mort, a été publié en 2009 chez Fayard. Les livres d'Anne Provoost sont traduits dans 20 langues.
Site de l’auteur.

Goce Smilevski (Macédoine,1975) est l’auteur de nombreux romans, pièces et essais. Il a étudié à l’université Charles de Prague, à la Central European University de Budapest, et à l’université Saints-Cyrille-et-Méthode de Skopje, sa ville natale. En 2003, il a reçu le Prix national du roman de l’année (Macédoine) pour Conversations avec Spinoza (non-traduit en français). La liste de Freud (Belfond, 2013), un roman contre le « grand oubli », est une histoire personnelle donnant la parole à Adolfina, la sœur du fondateur de la psychanalyse. Ce livre dépeint la grandeur et la décadence d’une époque qui débute dans l’optimisme du milieu du XIXe siècle et se termine avec l’Holocauste pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En 2010, Goce Smilevski a obtenu le Prix de littérature de L'Union européenne pour ce roman, qui a été traduit dans plus de trente langues. En 2012, il a effectué une résidence d'auteur chez Passa Porta. Découvrez également le citybook qu’il a écrit pour deBuren.
Site de l’auteur.

Juan Gabriel Vásquez (1973) est l’un des représentants les plus importants d’une nouvelle génération d’auteurs latino-américains. Mario Vargas Llosa l’a décrit comme « une des nouvelles voix les plus originales de la région ». Après avoir terminé ses études en Colombie, il a obtenu un doctorat en littérature latino-américaine à la Sorbonne. Il a ensuite vécu quelque temps en Ardenne belge, avant de s’installer à Barcelone. En 2013, après avoir passé seize ans à l’étranger, il retourne vivre en Colombie avec sa famille. Juan Gabriel Vásquez écrit régulièrement pour des magazines et des journaux. Il rédige une rubrique hebdomadaire dans le quotidien colombien El Espectador. Ses romans replongent souvent dans les nombreuses périodes de corruption, de violence et d’opportunisme qu’a connues la Colombie. Dans Les Dénonciateurs (2004), il écrit sur la manière brutale dont ont été traités les Allemands en Colombie pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Histoire secrète du Costaguana (2007) traite de la construction du canal de Panama et de son coût en vies humaines. Le dernier roman de Juan Gabriel Vásquez s’intitule Le Bruit des choses qui tombent (Prix Alfaguara 2011). L’auteur y décrit, dans une langue juste et évocatrice, la montée en puissance et le succès du trafic de drogue colombien international dans les années 1970 et 1980. Il évoque également l’impact que le terrorisme de la drogue a eu sur sa génération.


A PROPOS DU MODERATEUR

Ortwin de Graef (1963) est professeur de littérature anglaise à la KU Leuven en Belgique. Il y est également vice-doyen à la recherche à la Faculté des Lettres. Il est l’auteur de deux livres sur Paul de Man (Serenity in Crisis [1993] et Titanic Light [1995]) et de nombreux articles sur la littérature postromantique. Il a écrit sur un éventail d’écrivains très large, allant de William Wordsworth, Matthew Arnold et George Eliot, à Virginia Woolf et Pearl S. Buck, en passant par Hafid Bouazza, Alan Warner ou encore A.L. Kennedy. Avec Tom Toremans, il a co-édité les numéros spéciaux de la revue littéraire DWB sur la littérature écossaise et l’écriture multilingue. Il a également organisé et présenté des événements littéraires avec John Banville, Nadine Gordimer, Derek Walcott, David Grossman, David Mitchell, Michael Cunningham et A.L. Kennedy.