brussels in shorts

Passa Porta’s intention in Brussels in Shorts is to make a literary contribution to the appeal of the Belgian capital. Cartoonists and scenarists from Belgium and abroad were twice already given the chance to create a graphic story on contemporary Brussels, with financial support and accommodation in the centre of the city.

In October 2014, the publishing house Oogachtend put out a second series of stories in the album Bruss.2 Brussels in Shorts the sequel to the successful Bruss. Brussels in Shorts. The original drawings of the second edition are on display at the Belgian Comic Strip Centre until 7 December.

   

 

History

In 2011, to make a gift of new stories to the metropolis, Passa Porta launched Brussels in Shorts, an international graphic short story contest. Ten participants were selected to create a story about contemporary Brussels. The stories, which were published in the album Bruss. Brussels in Shorts in February 2013, differ in style and content, but they are all linked to the same location: the Oude Graanmarkt/Marché aux Herbes in the capital’s historic centre. The authors were also guests at the 2013 Passa Porta Festival. An exhibition of the original drawings was on at the Belgian Comic Strip Centre as well as in Ostend and Hasselt (in the framework of Brusselse Sporen)  in 2013.

In autumn 2013, Passa Porta carried on with  the project with a second contest, with more than 60 authors from Belgium and abroad. The challenge: to capture contemporary Brussels in a 12-page graphic short story, with the additional constraint:, the visit of an existing hotel in Brussels by one or more characters. The eight selected stories were exhibited at the Belgian Comic Strip Centre.

 

The Winners

The winners of the second edition:

 

You can take a look at work-in-progress by the winners of the first contest here:


Brussels in Shorts is a Passa Porta initiative with the support of the Flemish Community Commisssion (VGC).

brussels in shorts

Avec Brussels in Shorts, Passa Porta souhaite contribuer au rayonnement littéraire de Bruxelles. Par deux fois déjà, des illustrateurs et scénaristes de bande dessinée, de Belgique et d’ailleurs, ont eu la possibilité de réaliser une nouvelle graphique sur la capitale belge moyennant un soutien financier et un séjour dans la ville. 

En octobre 2014, la maison d’édition Uitgeverij Oogachtend a publié une deuxième série d’histoires dans l’album Bruss.2 Brussels in Shorts, le digne successeur du très réussi Bruss. Brussels in Shorts. Les dessins originaux de la deuxième édition sont exposés jusqu’au 7 décembre  au Centre Belge de la Bande Dessinée.  

 

  

 

Historique 

Afin de favoriser la création de nouveaux récits sur notre métropole, Passa Porta a lancé en 2011 le concours international de nouvelles graphiques  Brussels in Shorts. Dix participants furent sélectionnés en 2012 pour réaliser leur propre graphic short story ayant comme sujet la ville de Bruxelles aujourd’hui. Leurs histoires diffèrent tant par leur contenu que par leur style, mais toutes font un clin d’œil au même lieu : la place du Vieux-Marché-aux-Grains. Les auteurs furent également invités au Festival Passa Porta en mars 2013. Une exposition des dessins originaux, présentée au Centre belge de la bande dessinée, a également fait escale à Ostende et Hasselt en 2013 dans le cadre de Brusselse Sporen.

En automne 2013, Passa Porta a continué le projet avec une deuxième concours. Plus de 60 auteurs, belges et internationaux ont participé.  Le défi : donner à voir le Bruxelles d’aujourd’hui dans une nouvelle graphique de 12 pages, dont au moins un personnage doit fréquenter un hôtel bruxellois existant. Les huit histoires sélectionnées ont étés exposés au Centre Belge de la Bande Dessinée.  


Les lauréats

Les lauréats de la deuxième édition:

Découvrez ici les étapes préliminaires des projets de la première édition:  


Brussels in Shorts est une initiative de la maison internationale des littératures Passa Porta, avec le soutien de la Commission communautaire flamande (VGC).