1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 

agenda

PRESENTATION

Wed 31.05.2017 | 20:00 > 21:30
7 / 5€
passa porta bookshop
EN

meet the author: jasmin b. frelih

Presentation of the book In/Tweeën (De Geus, 2017), first novel of Jasmin B. Frelih, writer-in-residence at Passa Porta. Interview: Joost Vandecasteele.

In/Tweeën (In/Half) is a globalist novel set in a post-globalist future. The book interweaves three distinct narrative threads: Evan, an addict theatre director in Tokyo in the future, is staging a play and lamenting the loss of the love of his life. Kras, a family patriarch and ex-war-minister, is celebrating his 50th birthday in the Slovenian part of what could nowadays be called Fortress Europe. Zoja, an anarchist poet, is getting ready to read at the Brooklyn festival Poetrylitics, attended by a motley crew of intellectuals, artists and madmen. In/Half uses every trick in the postmodernist playbook, while also taking the tricks seriously. Not content to push the limits of text's possibilities, the novel charges its investigations into the fate of the individual, of the family, and of society, with a solemn ontology and sends its characters hurtling through a disconnected world filled with the debris of past histories for them to find a sense of belonging. With its sharp focus on the contradictions of modernity, and with the reading experience likened to an extended surfing session on a world wide web crafted by an ingenious demiurge, In/Half is a powerful statement on the nature of the novel by a voice from the new generation of writers.

Jasmin B. Frelih (1986) is a Slovenian writer of novels, short stories and essays. His debut novel Na/pol (In/Half) (2013) was nominated for the European Union Prize for Literature and will be translated into Dutch, English and Italian, among others. In 2015, he released Ideoluzij, a collection of futuristic short stories in which he writes about individualism and social relations and takes a good look at the canvas of human existence.

Joost Vandecasteele (1979) is writer, theater-maker en columnist. In 2010, he won the Vlaamse Debuutprijs for his book Hoe de wereld perfect functioneert zonder mij. Opnieuw en opnieuw en opnieuw and Massa were nominated for the BNG Literatuurprijs. In April 2017, he published the graphic novel Bella (Lebowski). He wrote the script of the serie Generatie B which is broadcasted since February 2017 on Canvas. 

ORG. Passa Porta, Embassy of Slovenia in Brussels, De Geus

 

Bookmark and Share

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

agenda

PRESENTATION

mer. 31.05.2017 | 20:00 > 21:30
7 / 5€
passa porta bookshop
EN

meet the author: jasmin b. frelih

Présentation du livre In/Tweeën (De Geus, 2017), premier roman du Slovène Jasmin B. Frelih, écrivain en résidence à Passa Porta. Interview : Joost Vandecasteele.

In/Tweeën est un roman globaliste se déroulant dans un futur post-globaliste. Le livre mêle trois fils narratifs distincts : Evan, un directeur de théâtre toxicomane dans le Tokyo du futur, met une pièce en scène et pleure la perte de son grand amour. Kras, un patriarche familial et ex-ministre de la guerre, fête son 50e anniversaire dans la partie slovène de ce que l’on pourrait aujourd’hui appeler « l’Europe forteresse ». Zoja, un poète anarchiste, s’apprête à lire au festival Poetrylitics de Brooklyn, entouré par une équipe hétéroclite d’intellectuels, d’artistes et de fous. In/Tweeën fait appel à toutes les astuces du postmodernisme tout en prenant celles-ci très au sérieux. Non content de repousser les limites des possibilités du texte, le roman mène son enquête au cœur des destins de l’individu, de la famille et de la société avec une ontologie solennelle. Il envoie ses personnages à la recherche d’un sentiment d’appartenance dans un monde déconnecté, rempli de bribes d’histoires anciennes. In/Tweeën est un roman qui observe avec précision les contradictions de l’ère moderne. Sa lecture s’apparente à une session de surf sur un Internet inventé par un démiurge ingénieux. Une affirmation puissante de la nature du roman émise par l’une des voix de la nouvelle génération littéraire.

Jasmin B. Frelih (1986) est un écrivain slovène de romans, nouvelles et essais. Son premier roman Na/pol (2013) a été nominé au European Union Prize for Literature et sera notamment traduit en néerlandais, anglais et italien. En 2015, Frelih a publié Ideoluzij, un recueil de nouvelles futuristes qui évoquent l’individualisme et les relations sociales en observant de plus près le tableau de l’existence humaine. 

Joost Vandecasteele (1979) est écrivain, metteur en scène et chroniqueur. En 2010, il remporte le Vlaamse Debuutprijs avec Hoe de wereld perfect functioneert zonder mij. Deux de ses autres romans (Opnieuw en opnieuw en opnieuw et Massa) ont été nominés au BNG Literatuurprijs. En avril 2017, paraît chez Lebowski son roman graphique Bella. Il est le scénariste de la série Generatie B, diffusée sur Canvas depuis février 2017. 

ORG. Passa Porta, Embassy of Slovenia in Brussels, De Geus

Bookmark and Share